Ch-ch-changes

Just me

I have been overweight/chubby/fat/out-of-shape for a long time now. I’ve struggled a few times in my life with my weight but I need to finally win this fight.

I’ve actually begun to embrace the curves and rolls, the lumps and bulges. It’s who I am. I’m not going to wake up tomorrow and be a size 6 so I might as well deal with it. I’ve started to get bolder and braver with what I’m wearing. Hello horizontal stripes! Why yes, I will wear a thick belt around my waist that draws attention to my lack of slimness. I don’t care if my chubby arms are out or if my chubby-rubbing-together thighs are visible because of my short skirt.

However, it’s time. It’s time to get healthy again to feel fit and to feel good about myself. I’ve blogged before about working at a clothing company, it’s hard to be a chubby girl in that environment but I think most days I hold my own and I get compliments on my choice of outfits quite a bit. I want to be in shape. I want to feel strong. I want to not think twice about whether something looks good or whether I feel comfortable in it.

Starting tomorrow, I will be exercising at least 3 times a week for an hour. More importantly, I will be changing the way I eat. The Gay BF started a new diet (for lack of a better word) a month ago now. I poopooed it at first. Mostly because the thought of cutting out carbs for 2 weeks makes me want to pull my hair out but he’s lost a substantial amount of weight. So I’m giving it a try.

Saturday The Gay BF and I went to the market and to the grocery store so I have everything I need to last this week. Lots of veggies, low-fat dairy and some sugar-free treats to help with any desserts craving. I spent some time today preparing tomorrow’s lunch and snacks as well as chopping up veggies for the rest of the week.

I’m serious about making this change. About needing this part of my life to change.

I weighed myself today and took all my measurements – that wasn’t a lot of fun but I’m hoping over the course of the next few weeks and months, as things improve it won’t seem so painful. I am not ready to share any of the numbers with you now but maybe over time to show the progress I’ve made I will. For now, I will say my ultimate goal is to lose 50 pounds. I have quite a few smaller ones both weight and fitness related that I’m sure I’ll write about shortly.

10 thoughts on “Ch-ch-changes

  1. I think it’s great that you have such a positive attitude about getting healthy. My husband has lost 60 pounds over the last 2 years, 20 of it being within the last 3 months. He’s on a diet his mom (a body builder) set up for him. I will say one thing, allow yourself 1 cheat meal every week. This way, you’re not setting yourself up for failure. Your body will crave the bad food it’s used to having now, if you allow yourself to have a cheat every now and then, when you start to come off the diet, you won’t crave it and will be able to maintain the weight loss. I know you weren’t asking for any tips with your diet, but I thought I would share what has worked for people I know.

    Either way, I wish you the best of luck and look forward to hearing about your success!!

    • Well the diet allows you sugar free jello, pudding and fudgesicles in the first 2 weeks. I won’t beat myself up if I slip but I’m going to try for the first 2 weeks to stick to it as closely as possible. The plan is a lot less rigid after week 2 so it shouldn’t be too hard to try to maintain.

      Thanks! I look forward to writing about it

  2. If you’re cutting out carbs for a time period, it’s usually to achieve something internally – ketosis, whatever. So having a “cheat meal” during that time frame will simply reset you to 0.

    Also remember that what worked for him may not at all work for you or at best you won’t see the results he did. It’s frustrating but most men lose weight easier than women.

    Good luck!

    • The no carbs is just for the first 2 weeks to help jump-start the process and to help focus on eating better. Like I said to Heather, I really want to follow this as much as possible. I’m also hoping that between changing my eating habits and working out that eventually the occasional “cheat” won’t have much of an impact.

      I hate that about men – bastards! 🙂 I do have the ability to work out more than he does so while I may not see the same weight loss results, I will be improving my strength and cardio too.

      I’m focused on the positive here. Giving up bread for 2 weeks may kill me.

  3. Good for you. Great to have small targets as well as long term goals. Look forward to hearing of your success. x

  4. The best reason I know for wanting to lose weight is because you want to be healthy. Dieting because you want to look like what advertisers call “perfect” is hogwash. I’m really happy to hear you want to be in better shape and better health. I made that decision also and I know I’m never, ever gonna be a size 6 but I’m going to be happy, strong and healthy in a size 12!

    YAY! for you!

Leave a Reply

