#Scintilla – A Letter To Pollyanna

Dear Pollyanna,

It feels some times like we’ve known each other a lifetime but it’s only been a few years.

You have become a constant source of love, support and encouragement in my life and there is really no way for me to convey my gratitude for this.

When you came into my life I don’t think either of us ever imagined where this relationship would go or what it would mean.

You stand on the sidelines day in and day out cheering for me. Offering me a sounding board, sage advice and a calming voice when I’m standing out on a ledge.

Talking with you, chatting, and emailing has allowed me to see glimpses of myself that you see: a strong, smart woman with incredible potential. You have helped me to turn some of that potential into reality.

When I stumble, you offer me a hand to lift me up. When I cry, a shoulder to lean on. When I’m happy, you smile along with me.

So much has changed for me in the few short years we’ve known each other. I am not the girl I was when we met. I’ve grown in ways I didn’t know I needed to grow. I’ve tried things and given things up as needed. No matter which way my life has taken me, you’ve rolled along with me on this ride reminding me always that you, “trust my judgement”. What’s funny is that I’m still not sure trust my judgement but I figure your trust in it makes me trustworthy. And while that insanely circular logic makes little sense this is how a lot of our relationship is for me. I throw something out there and you help me to validate it and this allows me to accept it.

And while I am sure your arms are tired from waving the pom-poms, I hope you never stop. I need someone in my life like you. I need someone who can help me see all of me the way you do.

Thank you so much for being my friend.

Lots of love,

A

4 thoughts on “#Scintilla – A Letter To Pollyanna

  1. i love this. when i saw the title, i thought it was going to be something sarcastic about a “pollyanna” type personality, you know? i’m really happy to see that it’s gratitude and love.

  2. Another great post. I think we all wish we had someone like this in our life, you’re so lucky to have her in yours.

Leave a Reply

