The Good, The Bad, The Downright Exhausting

The Good:

I am going to be paying only 61$ out-of-pocket a month for my 1700$ biologics prescription.

The Bad:

My RA is just not responding to anything we’ve tried so far. This disease is aggressive and unrelenting on my body. Every six weeks I see my rheumatologist and I tell her about new symptoms and side-effects that are making every day a little more difficult.

In my exam with her 24/28 joints are tender, with 9 that are swollen.

So we’re moving on to the biologics, which will hopefully suppress my over-active immune system. Problem with that? Suppressing your immune system means that you are more susceptible to infections so I needed to do some things to get ready for that:

– a TB test (negative)
– a shingles vaccine (which has led to an uncomfortable reaction. Live vaccine in immuno-suppressed patient = feverish, aching, sore, blotchy arm)
– chest x-ray
– having some “suspect” moles checked to make sure I don’t have melanoma (I don’t but I do have a freaky colourless mole)

Having a “clean” bill of health means I should be able to start the new drugs this week. A nurse from the pharmaceutical company will come to my apartment and show me now to inject myself and sit with me to make sure I don’t have some kind of freaky reaction and die alone in my apartment.

The Downright Exhausting:

4 days – 4 appointments.

Rheumatologist, Nurse, Plastic Surgeon, Nurse & Doctor.

Poking, prodding, blood taken, injection, swelling, pain, exhaustion…

Emotionally I’ve reached a point where I just don’t know how I’m going to keep putting one foot in front of the other.

One thought on “The Good, The Bad, The Downright Exhausting

Leave a Reply

